The tomorrow people


Procrastination. Every man’s disease and every lazy person’s comfort cushion. Putting off tasks is inherent of human nature, either we play it safe in our own world or we suddenly panic that maybe tomorrow we will do it better. Suddenly, a new episode of Game of Thrones seems more enticing than writing a report that is due by Monday because you still have Sunday. At that moment even completing a minor role seems like a daunting task, one that still needs more planning or thought.

As a writer, I must confess that I have done this over and over. In fact if there was ever a procrastinators association, I would be one of the council members. I take that back, my Google search reveals that there are SEVERAL procrastinator associations on the internet. The world has gone bananas, I know.

Whenever I sit down to write an article, I suddenly get too lazy, my mind stops working. It’s like every other thing on the internet entices me, pulls me in till I’m sold to do anything but write. So I convince myself, why not do it tomorrow? Or the next day? Or the day after?

Meanwhile, I’m trawling the internet looking for ‘more interesting’ things to do like reading gossip blogs. Like who’s married who, who’s asking for a trillion dollar prenup, who’s been dumped by who, who’s come out of the closet, who’s slapped who and all those daily topics that sensational bloggers push down our throats. And more often than not, when lounging in my bubble, procrastination has robbed me of a chance to break a good story.

Imagine writing a story that everyone read about a week ago because you saved it for later. Unless you possess the ingenuity to bring a new twist to the story, readers will grit their teeth and punch a wall or something. If I’m reading that article, I will definitely mutter under my breath. In this profession, you do not want to be blacklisted by your readers. Procrastination is just a luxury you cannot afford. You do not want to be that writer that people flip past just so they wouldn’t see your ‘stale’ article.

Why procrastination is peculiarly common among writers is a question that may warrant summoning ancient authors like George Orwell, George Bernard Shaw, William Shakespeare, Nathaniel Hawthorne, Oscar Wilde, grilling them in one windowless back room for an hour to come up with the answer. But even such an elite pool of authors would fail to come up with satisfactory reasons as to why writers are the worst procrastinators.

Writers aside, why do people procrastinate? Some say have attributed it to poor time management. However, psychology pundits say procrastination stems from our inability to manage emotions, thus feeling overwhelmed even when just sitting and doing nothing.

Procrastination is a filthy habit that should be resisted the moment it rears its ugly head. Resist it the way you resist gobbling five delicious cupcakes when you are trying to lose weight. Procrastination stalls human success, it holds us back from reaching our optimum point. And in this generation where talent oozes everywhere, you cannot afford to place your fate on tomorrow. Leave tomorrow the hell alone, that is someone else’s time. Simply put, the year has come to an end, so don’t burden 2015 with the tasks you could have done in 2014. Today is the only time you have.

About sensoria300

I harness words, I thrive on them. I tell stories. I am dreamer, sometimes a poet but mostly I am a Game of Thrones fanatic. Lady Olenna, Lyanna Mormont and Arya Stark are my spirit animals.

Posted on October 13, 2013, in Soul Food and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

