Just show me love in the morning


Show me love in the morning

To feel my arms tingle in your embrace

A touch of life beneath my cloak

And when the sun kisses my heels to burn

I retreat back to the shade in my safety net

 

Perhaps attain sanctuary to smother the ache

Sanctuary? What fraud of humanity

Because pain seeks residence in the heart anyway

It draws me out, breaking my walls of resistance

I try to walk on water but I hit the bottom with a thud

 

Then I rise to sharpen my comeback with a sword

I’m a scheming lover, hugging the idea of revenge when wronged

Intent hides beyond the façade of a smile

I kiss before attacking then I soothe the wound that I maim

 

Shall I know when my heart clogs with hate?

Shall I see the mist that hangs glumly before my eyes?

I’m afraid of thriving in the dark

Giving in to the brutes that hide in the corners of my soul

 

Shall I recover from the conquest?

And glare at the darkness after a safe landing?

But maybe I shall be tangled in the bosom of evil

I throw my pride in the harrowing wind

Perhaps I need saving after all

 

But I can drown it all with a bottle by nightfall

A pint to cushion the guilt, I hide in my stupor

Then I chant incoherently to drunken souls

Perched high on a barman’s stools

 

My sanity comes only in the morning

When a nude stranger tugs at the corners of my sheets

Listen love, I can lie my way out of this

“It’s not what it looks like” or “He’s just a friend, and nothing happened”

 

Perhaps if I splash the water on my face I can see more clearly

But truth is omnipresent; it hides in the daunting mirror

I see the sadness that tugs at the corners of my smile

I see the caricature of a familiar face

Way too gone, way too lost

 

Who am I?

I’m a coward, I’m a fraud

I struggle to stifle the monsters that wage war within

I hide it all, I hide it too well

Yes, I’m a fraud

But tell me a story I don’t know already

Or better yet, just love me in the morning

About sensoria300

I harness words, I thrive on them. I tell stories. I am dreamer, sometimes a poet but mostly I am a Game of Thrones fanatic. Lady Olenna, Lyanna Mormont and Arya Stark are my spirit animals.

Posted on June 4, 2014, in Poetic Justice and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

