Overcoming writer’s block for poets


Log out of Twitter, Facebook, Instagram e.t.c

Switch off your phone, put it away in the closet

Sit squarely at your desk

Scribble something that doesn’t make sense

Chew up the paper

Let the ink soak your tongue then spit it out

Think hard, go deep into your thoughts

Channel that frustration

Scribble something that still doesn’t make sense

Curl the paper into a ball, hurl it at the wall

Step outside, feel the rush of wind against your skin

Let the fresh air fill up your lungs

Look further beyond…

Sometimes your muse is as simple as the chicken crossing the road

About sensoria300

I harness words, I thrive on them. I tell stories. I am dreamer, sometimes a poet but mostly I am a Game of Thrones fanatic. Lady Olenna, Lyanna Mormont and Arya Stark are my spirit animals.

Posted on May 25, 2015, in Poetic Justice and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Did you write that while having writer’s block? It really turned out well! šŸ˜€
    Awesome writing Jennifer and I felt a surge through my soul as I could directly relate to such moments.

  2. Indeed this post spoke to me! Writers block is the diablo himself…. i need to go back to blogging and i have already though of name… MY DEAR ZAHRA…. your love for writing my just inspire me to go back into it. Scoping your articles will give feed back…. #theFemaleBikoNilote… see what i did there?

Leave a Reply

