Give me hope, Nairobi


Photo courtesy of Jim Gatuna Njoroge

Photo courtesy of Jim Gatuna Njoroge

Bang! Bang!
Twelve rounds, bleeding holes
The CCTV cameras are asleep
Someone call the press quick
This spin-off will make the headlines
We can’t handle the truth
But these lies we’ll believe
A brave coward, hides in plain sight
Give me hope, give me hope Nairobi

A human complex at war with its children
Your votes are mine
But these oil fields are mine alone
Yours is mine, mine is mine alone

I’m a pawn, a means to an end
But when I play chess
I wanna be the effin’ queen

The end of life
A butcher’s knife in the hand of a lover
Blood relations turned bloody
The rise of the Kenyan sociopath
A rogue transition from paedophilia to machete
Give me hope, Nairobi

Tall I stand, obscured
Loud I speak, ignored
Fortitude, I may not win but I will endure
Give me hope, give me hope Nairobi

About sensoria300

I harness words, I thrive on them. I tell stories. I am dreamer, sometimes a poet but mostly I am a Game of Thrones fanatic. Lady Olenna, Lyanna Mormont and Arya Stark are my spirit animals.

Posted on June 3, 2015, in Poetic Justice and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Very strong piece here.

Leave a Reply

