To the fathers who loved us


This is for the fathers who raised us
Those who were here from the beginning
Or those who came in between and picked up the pace
Those whose face lit up when our first word
sounded more like baba than mama
(I believe the word is dada)
Those who knew better to bring home goodies
Because the gatekeeper was one little demanding girl

Those who got the memo that we needed more than just books and pens
Those who had the courage to tear up when we passed the exams
Or those who pulled us in for a hug when the results weren’t that good
And whispered, “There is always a next time baby.”

Those who shaped our teenage dreams
Those who chased the little boys in our lives
Even before they got to say hello
Those who demanded more from the men in our lives
“You better treat my daughter right, son.”

Those who brag about us to their friends
“You should really meet my daughter,
when she speaks better have a dictionary with you.”
Those who flaunt our many qualities
“My daughter installed this app on my phone,
I think it’s called Talking Tom.”

Those who care too much
And still fight our battles like we are 14

This is for the fathers who left us too soon
Those we loved deeply but never got to express it
Those whose faces we carry along in pictures and memories
Those we remember only from family portraits and the familiar songs

This is for the fathers who always come home
Because that is where family is
Happy Father’s Day!

About sensoria300

I harness words, I thrive on them. I tell stories. I am dreamer, sometimes a poet but mostly I am a Game of Thrones fanatic. Lady Olenna, Lyanna Mormont and Arya Stark are my spirit animals.

Posted on June 20, 2015, in Poetic Justice and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. So beautiful. Especially the final lines. I love the part about the fathers that always came home, because that is where family is.
    Great post.
    🙂

Leave a Reply

